Thoughts on ‘What I Talk About When I Talk About Running’ by Haruki Murakami

What I Talk About When I Talk About RunningWhat I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I have enjoyed reading much more than ever in the last few months (I guess from July 2014) and I realized I was hitting a reader’s block (is there one?) thanks to a couple of draining reads that I undertook in the last few weeks. (I’d rather not name those). Just when I thought I wanted to take a break from reading, I picked up a book that is associated with the other activity I have enjoyed a lot, particularly in the last few months. Running.

Having been a runner from March 2012 and always looking forward to the next 10k event in the city (I am yet to train for/run a half marathon), this What I Talk About When I Talk About Running was one book that I could relate to and associate with easily. Many of us run. Many of us have a thought process associated with our running. What we think about when we run, and what we think about running. Haruki Murakami (incidentally my first book of this wonderfully gifted writer-author) pens down his experiences of having trained for his runs and his experiences during the run exactly like how any runner (me included) would want to pen it down. It is not often that a book talks to you throughout the reading process. This one did.

I could go on raving about this book, but I would stop here. If you are a runner, you should read this book, If you are an avid reader, you should read this book. If you are neither, even then you should read this book.

Thank you Murakami for giving the runner a voice, and remove the reader’s block within the first 20 pages of this book!

View all my reviews

One thought on “Thoughts on ‘What I Talk About When I Talk About Running’ by Haruki Murakami

Leave a comment